Help With Converting to .STL file for 3D Printing

Hello Everyone,
I am trying to create a very basic 3D version of a geometry dash cube in blender.
This Is what it is based off:

The original .blend file is like the image of the .stl loaded into blender down below but without the silly looking distorted triangles so it actually looks good.

Now for the problem,
I am trying to convert this to a .STL file for 3D printing, and when done, it ends up looking like this:

As shown, it creates very distorted triangle markings on the face of the cube, and using the 3D print addon for blender it shows a lot of bad things:
Intersect Faces: 102
Zero Faces: 952
Thin faces: 126
Sharp Edge: 12
Overhang Face: 136 (Some of these are because of the eyes but I’m not worrying about them for now)
I am new to blender and don’t know much about this but would appreciate any help.
I cannot attach files because I am a new user, sorry.

Thanks,
CheezyPants12.

Triangles are not necessary bad for 3D Printing.
If you have distortions with a flat shading, that implies that all vertices involved in description of cubic face of character are not coplanar.

An hundred of intersecting faces means that you did not create a coherent envelope, that could be correctly interpreted by slicer.
Zero Faces means that some vertices may be merged.
Thin Faces or Sharp Edges means that angles between faces don’t leave enough space to fill volume between them with printing material.

There clearly was a problem in the way you created your model.
If you want to use boolean technique to create such model, you have to try to match mesh density on operands before the merge.
If you subdivide or remesh the cube before merge, you not end-up with big triangles issues, but small triangle ones.

Remesh modifier in Voxel mode can help a lot, to obtain a clean result in a merge of such basic shapes.

1 Like

Welcome :tada:…