Help with Ubuntu

I just installed Ubuntu in my office computer and now have to configure it to connect to a wireless lan with a router WPA-PSK protected.

I’m very new to linux and, after some tries and some tutorials, i’m trying to install Network-Manager-Gnome to see if i can connect to the lan.

I’ve already Network-Manager installed but, when i try to install Network-Manager-Gnome i have to upgrade the LibFontConfig1 and the FontConfig-config to version 2.4.2

My problem is this, the first time i try to install FontConfig-config i’ve got a Broken “LibFontConfig1” and could not fix it, so i install Ubuntu again.

Now i’m in the part that i have to install (FontConfig-config and LibFontConfig1, version 2.4.2) to get Network-Manager-Gnome installed.

How can i do this without Broken anything?
p.s.- very new to linux

Thank you very much!

[edit]
Found the solution!:eyebrowlift:
Thank you the same!
[/edit]

Hello
Have you a working internet conection?
How do you install those apps?
In a normal situation, if you install the “packages” suited for your
distro “Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy”?? nothing it’ll be broken…

I’m very new to Linux, so i just got the 386 versions of the program and the dependencies from a windows connection and start installing, check dependencies missing and so on.

I still don’t have the internet working cause Network Manager have a bug with some icons but i hope that i can get it working tomorrow.

p.s. Yes, it’s Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy and i’m excited about learning some linux!:yes:
Got some lessons 2 years ago, but it’s just now that i’m going to start for real!

You must install with the “package Manager”
I know that you don’t have a working conexion, but you can conect with a terminal, in a good old Linux fashion, using “wireless-tools”
do a web search on how to use “iwconfig”, “ifconfig” and “route”
Bye