Help with using geometry nodes to make an audience with idle animations

Hi there, there are two main drives behind me writing this post:

• I want to create a seated audience, with subtle idle animations. I will use low poly models parented to armatures to achieve this, as I have quite a lot of experience animating armatured meshes.

• I’m new to geometry nodes and want to gently push my abilities with these as far as a I can.

This picture shows that I’ve been able to make rows of chairs, using, mostly, my first ever geometry node set up! Yup, I’m that much of a rank n00b. I like that instances don’t increase vertex count. The base chair models themselves are not shy on vertex count!

The chairs are distributed on the points of a sub-divided plane (not shown), to which has been added a displacement to introduce a degree of randomness. I’ve done this stage the old-fashioned way, with modifiers, as I can’t see an easy way to bring in that sort of displacement in geometry nodes yet.

Onto my questions. Can I, as a function of the geometry node which distributes objects on the points of the mesh to which the geometry node is assigned, do the following:

• Change certain aspects of individual audience members’ meshes: for example hair colour.

• Randomly apply different idle animations to different audience members? i.e. cross legs, scratch head, look from side-to-side etc.

• Randomly change the starting point of an animation action (or action ‘block’, thinking from the NLA’s point of view), so that, say, the fraction of the audience given the leg-crossing animation doesn’t begin that animation simultaneously.

• Do something similar to the track-to bone constraint, so the whole audience looks at the same object?

That’ll do for starters. Thanks very much for your time,

JT

Hello @Jester_Tickett and welcome to blender artists !

So, what you’re trying to do isn’t the area where geonodes shine the most,