Helping installing texture into Blender

So I am new to Blender and I need help with how to install a texture. Basically I downloaded a glass texture from a site called Blender Materials. The file came as a .blend file type, but I am not sure how to open this material in blender. I know how to open the materials properties menu and I can create a new material but don’t see where I can select the file I downloaded, so I can use it in my project. The closest option I see is to use an image texture but that only allows me to open JPEG files. I tried looking for some tutorials online, but I am still confused on what I am supposed to do.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

File > Append

You don’t/can’t install textures, there you can navigate the file, you have different “folders” for materials, objects, scenes, etc…

However with the new asset manager in alpha version 2.93 you can mark that material as an asset and use that file only for assets like materials…

Not sure what you mean. If I go to file > Append then it opens the file viewer and I can navigate to the file however when I select the file and click append it just treats the file like a folder and opens it up in the viewer like there is something else inside the file I need to click on, but no files show up. If I click append from there I can an error that shows the file path and says nothing indicated.

You have to append the material into the file you want to use it in. You do not append the whole blend file just different components.

For example from the default file.
Go to file menu and select append.
Navigate to the file that contains the material.
Click on that file and yes, you will see that it contains several folders.

A blend file contains different sub solders for Objects, materials, armatures, etc You can append all these things seperatly.

One of those folders is called materials open it.