Here's an example of a model I'm studying

Hello there,

I’ve been studying models and how they’re constructed lately. In this instance I downloaded a model from Polyhaven. I’ve selected the model in edit mode and separated it by it’s loose parts. Would it be safe to say that when this model was made, this was the approach they took to make it? (model each separate part by itself for the sake of simplicity?) Here’s what I mean:

Thank you for taking the time!

1 Like

Here’s my take on this -

I would model everything as a separate mesh object where it would make sense to do so. The mounting bracket and screws could be 1 mesh object, but I would make them as 2 mesh objects, because each would have a different material on them.

The bracket that holds the camera on the mounting bracket could be 1 mesh object or 2, depends upon what you want to do with it. If you’re doing still images, then 1 mesh object. If you’re doing an animation, then 2 mesh objects, so the camera can rotate and pan up and down.

The front of the camera case, the camera itself and it’s backing box I’d do as separate mesh objects because each of them will have a different material on it. Also, the front of the case you may want to uv map to add image textures to for dirt/scratches. No sense in uv unwrapping more than you need to.

The hood of the camera (top of the case) would definitely be 1 mesh object because it has an image texture mapped to it. The main case, below the hood, again 1 mesh object because you may want to add an image texture to it.

I think it is easier to keep most stuff as a separate mesh object. When uv unwrapping, why deal with more stuff than the mesh you want to add images to?

Keeping things as separate mesh objects also makes it easier to hide parts you don’t need to see as you work on something. Just turn off the visibility in the outliner.