Hey there guys, I got a cloth question

Hey there, im a noob.

Only been using blender for about a month, but WOW! what a month it has been =P

Used to use Cinema 4d a fair bit, the main pro from that is the render time and ease of radiosuty use, other than that Blender is beautiful!

Anyhoo, i got a question about cloth animations.

I want to have a curtain hanging down (so far i weighted the top vertices to 1 and all the others to 0, this works fine, but i need the curtain to fall all of a sudden. I’m not too clued up on IPO’s yet, so not sure if that is how you do it… any help would be great

Thanx guys:)

but i need the curtain to fall all of a sudden

It sounds like you are using softbodies for the cloth. So you made a vertice group and colored the attached portion red (=1) and the rest blue (=0). You set the gravity to 9.8 but the curtain falls in slow motion right? This is because your curtain is huge. Right click on your curtain and then scale it down. Rerun the simulation and your curtain will fall as expected.

When i have weighted ALL the vertices to 0 (blue) it falls quite well, and realistically, i think i am just trying to find a way for the top vertices weighted 1 (red) to turn blue all of a sudden, allowing the entire curtain to drop.

I am not clued up with IPO’s at the moment, and not sure of their potential, or eligability in this situation.

i think i am just trying to find a way for the top vertices weighted 1 (red) to turn blue all of a sudden, allowing the entire curtain to drop.

So you want to key the vertice weighting of the goal group? I don’t know if Blender currently can set IPO keys for vertice weights. I am going to have to do something similar soon but I was thinking of using hooks. I guess you can assign a bunch of verticies to a hook in edit mode. I am thinking that I could then hold on to the hook and let go when needed. I think hooks have IPO curves. Maybe someone knows if it is possible to assign IPO curves to vertice weights?