Hobbyist animators and Cycles

I just want to pick the brains of a couple of Hobbyist animators. I am new to the animation game but I have started some very some early planning for a short I want to work on something in the ridiculous vain of this https://vimeo.com/790881

But here is my situation you are a hobbyist wannabe animator, you have one desktop(windows 7 64bit, Haswell i5 4570, 8GB ram, GTS450). You suck at lighting, the very thought of placing bounce lights manually turns you ghostly pale. Your internet connection stinks so rendering on a farm is out of the question.

In this situation should I even be thinking of using cycles as my main render engine I have an extremely simple head I am working on at the moment and I just started testing SSS out,a single SSS shader Fresnel mixed with a glossy shader and lit with three mesh planes. I am doing renders of 1080 by 864 pixels, taking about 625 SSS samples and 400 for the mesh lights, 225 for glossy and using the limited GI preset. It’s taking me 10 minutes to render some noisy pics.

I just want to hear some thought from hobbyist animators without access to heavy computing power. How has cycles worked out for you? I am particularly interested in hearing from people doing character work, SSS, short hair that kind of stuff.

I know I have a lot to learn about using cycles but I just want to get an idea if I should invest my limited time learning BI. Is using Cycles for animation more for small studios like the Blender foundation who can build a small render farm like that cabinet one they built.

you could use a community renderfarm for that and you can also render for others…
but as with Blender if you can give back as much as you get and got out of it, - by all means do it :slight_smile: