holographic materials

Ok I’m new to cycles and working with nodes. I’ve been using blender for years though. I’m trying to figure out how to make a realistic holographic material like, you see in stop signs or reflectors or certain stickers.

I’m thinking that if I project white light on a surface textured in say 3 tone grey scale cubes and set that material to be reflective but only at angles greater than say 30 degrees and then set up a separate color node to break the white reflection of light into its RGB values that I can then use the camera’s vector to vary the color brightness or something.

Read that a few times until you understand what I’m saying. Let me also post a pic of what I’m talking about. I’d really appreciate some direction on this. I may be going about it completely wrong.

1 Like

You can use multiple mix nodes in combination with the layer weight input node to modulate the colour based on angle. The node tree is a little complicated and i’m sure there would be a simpler way to achieve this using colour ramps - but I have had a bit of a mental block at the moment and can’t think how to do it.

By applying variations of this node tree (i.e. moving the colours around or reversing them for the different areas of text) - you could achieve the effect you are after. Apply this material to a plane - render in live view mode and rotate the plane - you will see the colours changing across the surface based on the angle you are viewing from.

You can easily add a grey channel to this - so that the colours only kick in at a certain angle.

Ok - finally had enough cups of tea for my brain to start working. Here is an updated node tree using a colour ramp.

This is what it looks like viewed straight on

And from an angle (note the plane and the text have different materials. Same node setup - but the colours in the ramp are reversed to give colour contrast between the background and foreground).

1 Like

why not use glossy + emission?