How can I make a "see-through" shader?

Hi everyone,

I am currently working on Hasty Melons, a watermelon racing game and I need some help to figure out how to make a specific shader.
In the game, sometimes relevant objects are behind walls and I would like to make them render in front of everything.
So far I managed to do something similar by tweaking the z-depth of the material but it gave unpredictable results.

Here is an example from a gif I made some time ago:

I tried to find resources about how to do that in a glsl shader but can’t find anything that seems related enough.
I’m very new to glsl shaders, so I would greatly appreciate if anyone had hints about how to achieve that :slight_smile:

So only when the watermelon is behind the wall will it be transparent? Also which game engine are you using?

Well using GLSL to appear the objects in front of everything is (almost) impossible.
What do you mean by “unpredictable results”? For me the result in gif is already pretty good :spin:

Yes, only when the watermelon is behind the wall. I already know how to check when it’s the case though. The game engine is vanilla BGE 2.77.

You could mask that particular part of the wall with the watermelon.

Impossible, really? Damn, I guess I will have to use tricks with overlays?
The result in the gif is ok indeed but it only worked on one of my machines. I had to use a really high z-depth value for it to work properly. Once you try to change alpha, or other z-depth objects it start to not work all the time.

yeah, just cast a ray from the camera to each actor, if obstructed, send a message to a overlay that is where to display the object using screenspace

http://www.tutorialsforblender3d.com/GameModule/ClassKX_Camera_4.html

camera.getScreenPosition() and camera.getScreenVect() are very handy.

getScreenPosition(obstructedActor)
sendMessage(screenPosition as str([pos.x,pos.y,pos.z])
moveOverlayObject to screenPosition in overlay using getScreenVect