How can i make a water texture look sparkly?

if no tutorial, explain like im a beginner please. thanks!

You can add a Filter > Glare node in the compositor with Streaks or Simple Stars. Use threshold to increase/decrease effect.

After your render is finished. Hit the Compositing tab, enable Use Nodes and Backdrop.
Nodes will start with a Render Layer and Composite node only. Add a Viewer node and a Glare between them. Compositing works just like materials but for post processing.

my problem is that when i add a light source to make bright spots on the water, it makes the land too bright, and when i add the glare node, it makes the land sparkle when i don’t want it to. any way to fix that?

Using Material or Object IDs (or cryptomatte), you can assign different glares to different things. Here is the glare portion of a real project:

Be sure to check the matte. For some transparency based glass I had to resort to cryptomatte because the mask was also affected by transparency.

You can isolate an object with a new View Layer and a Collection. Create a collection for the object that you want to isolate, and a new View Layer. You can switch layers but when you hit render F12, will render two images separated.
In one View Layer you right-click the collection that need to be disabled. So in one layer you have the water enabled and other the background. After that you can apply effects in Compositing individually.
I am using Eevee, but for Cycles, Criptomatte is a better option, require render layers knowledge.

Compositing is a incredible good resource. I think It worth expending more time in compositing than the actual render, each artist has it own opinion about it.

Thanks for the advice, but the land is part of the object that the water is on. Any work around for that?

thanks for trying to help, but i’m a beginner (first project) and i can’t decipher that enough to apply it. can you simplify it any?