How can i make two HDRI apply to different parts of an object?

in my case i want a globe i made to have the land lit with one HDRI and the ocean lit with another. the land and ocean are different materials on the same object.

i’m a complete beginner so please describe every step

Perhaps start by learning to do it proper. You light a scene with HDR, not an object or different parts of it, it doesn’t make sense especially at beginner level. Unless you can call yourself a master lighter in other software, there is no point in getting into really advanced tricks that require extensive knowledge about Blender, both its possibilities and limitations.

Are you sure you know what an HDRI is? It would be possible if you were willing to render your scene two or three times to create a matte and composite it, but it really defeats the point of using an HDRI at all.

i like the lighting effects HDRI give to the land and to the water, but i can’t make one HDRI make both the land and water look how i want them to at the same time. sometimes when the water is how i want it, the land is too dark, and visa versa.

can you explain the steps in detail for how to do that please?

Sure, but I’m about to go to sleep so I wont be providing tech support, so if you have issues just use google.

Render your first globe with HDRI, as an image sequence if thats what you need.

Render your second globe with HDRI, also as an image sequence if thats what you need.

Make a black and white mask. Set the background either to transparent, or pure white or pure black. The mask should be an emission texture, unless you want some bleed over between the two. (you can also save render time with an emission texture at low samples, or maybe even use eevee. it dont matter homeboy.)

doink everything together in the compositor.
In this case, the water has the stars HDRI effecting it.

And in this case the land has the stars effecting it.