How can I start creating my own artwork?

Just started blendering, but I’m very much a total newbie when it comes to creating my own artwork. I dunno, but can anyone please help me out? I’d really appreciate it, thanks! :smiley: :expressionless:

The tutorials on blender3d.org is a great way to start learning to model

That’s not what I mean. I can pretty much follow the tutorials, but the problem I’m having is putting MY ideas into a reality without making some sort of horrendous, deformed monster that resembles a pile of crap and Frankstein at the same time.

I used to have the same problem. What I did is made real stuff and altered them and added stuff to them not sure if this helps :expressionless:

Do some modeling tutorials. Once you’ve completed them and learned the basic modeling concepts begin applying these to your own ideas. Make it simple at first then challenge yourself to do more.

Many of the things that make a model seem realistic or “good” are small touches that are added later. Lighting, for example, makes a tremendous amount of difference in a scene, but it might be one of the last things to be refined. Until then, “it looks like crap” but it’s not finished yet.

Also, as you make changes try to take a fairly broad brushed approach. It’s very easy to fixate on details that the viewer will never see. Get the big picture roughly-right first, then try to prioritize what works and what doesn’t; what deserves to be worked-on first and what doesn’t.

Keep lots of in-progress files, lots of versions of the work. Don’t throw stuff away. Just make a PureCrap folder… :wink: