How do I add a glow effect in a complex mesh like lights in a car model?

Hello fellow Blender Artists!
I have been using Blender for quite a while now, just experimenting with materials and logic bricks. I am a total noob in scripting in Python.

I need help in making a lens glare/flare or glow effect in the headlights and tail lights of a car model I have prepared for the game engine. The model is not mine but I tweaked it to look good in the game engine for my game.

Here is how it looks in the game engine right now:

I would like a glow effect around the lights. I’ve seen simple glow effects by using a sphere and adding a point light in it, but I do not know how to put it in the shape of the lights in this car.

I’m sorry if the images are not working properly as I don’t know how the uploads work here!

Any kind of help is appreciated!

2 Likes

There is a separate thin strip in the Tail Lights to which I want to apply the effect.

The Headlights should look something like this:

The Tail Lights should look something like this:

make those materials emisive set them to around 1.5 ir 2 and then render it then in the compositor add a glare node and change that to fog glow and play around and it should work

you dont get compositor in the bge. but what you are looking for is called “bloom”. a glsl filter can be used.

in upbge current master you can even use a ‘bloom buffer’ (a render attachment telling specifically what areas to bloom)

libload is broken in master after a refactor of the scenegraph.

However everything else appears to be working.

this uses a ‘temporal buffer bloom’ to avoid popping assosiated with mipmap downsample bloom

I have tried using the Bloom GLSL filter but that adds the glow effect to the entire scene.

I’m sorry, I’m unable to get UPBGE built and running properly in Linux. I would like to do this effect in the vanilla game engine only.

old upbge builds for linux:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B8EITuogwZr6Mi1EQW5FbERqTHc