How do I design the rotary lobes on a pump?

Hi, newbie here.

I need to create a rotary lobe pump, and I can’t figure out how to create the smooth, round shapes of the lobes.

Here’s an image of where I got so far: https://prnt.sc/1w9tpjn

And an image of what I want to have (approx.)

I tried using a simple deform and a bezier curve, but none have worked out.

I also tried different things in Edit Mode like connecting the vertices at the sharp angle and dissolving, merging, deleting, nothing seems to work.

I’d really appreciate some help creating the shapes of those rotary lobe pumps.

Here’s a video I found (done in Fusion 360) that may better show you what I need. I need to do that, but in Blender, and I wanna start with the rotary lobes: https://youtu.be/NV3sVYXc-p8?t=165

I appreciate any help, thank you.

Does it need to be 100% precise? If not I suggest you do the following:

1. download some schematics for a similar pump and import them into blender
    e.g. this one here (in public domain)
    https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Meyers_b6_s0976_b2.png

2. manually trace the picture (mirror enabled)

3. apply the mirror and use looptools’ relax function to smooth out the curve:

4. add mirror again and extrude

5. add some edge loops

6. apply a sub-d modifier

7)Two lobes:

lobes_pump.blend (163.8 KB)

3 Likes

Thank you for taking the time to help me.

The very final scope of this part of the project is to 3D-print a pump that will actually be used to pump water continuously (long-term)

I wouldn’t say it needs to be 100% accurate right now, as long as it serves its purpose effectively. Your method will work well for the design, and probably for a 3D-printed model (model = prototype for testing)

However down the line I’d want to 3D-print a model (model = precise, practical device for real-life application), and I am curious if there are tools in Blender to do it mathematically precise.