How do I get my 3D animations as close to real-time rendering as possible?

The normal argument I see for why normal rendering is so much slower than real time rendering is that normal rendering is much more detailed. While that’s a worthy trade off for big budget projects, I’m still learning all this stuff. I just need to be able to render something without having to pay bookoo bucks for a render farm. Now-a-days, video games look really good already. Look at Uncharted 4, that game is gorgeous, and it all renders in real-time, not 4 hours a frame.

As I am just a hobbyist at this point in time, I’m wondering: How do video games get such good graphics, while keeping the render time so insanely low? How would I go about making animation like that and get a similarly quick render time, or something close?

I don’t need hyper-photo-realism, but I’m thinking how do I get video game quality, at that render speed, for non-interactive content? How would the models need to be made, the lighting, the physics, settings, etc? If it’s possible in an unpredictable game world, it must be possible in a preset animation.

Well, I’ve managed to use various tricks to coax a lot of mileage out of “OpenGL” renders of things. (I wish that Blender had more-explicit support for OpenGL as a render-engine than it does now.)

These days, OpenGL can (IMHO …) “go 90%-or-more of the way” to the place where you actually need to go. You can then use compositing. You use the various software-renderers … Cycles, BI … to produce details, which are overlaid onto the basic OpenGL-produced renders.

It is possible to model and animate an entire scene in Blender and export it to Unity, UE4, or Lumberyard, create the materials, set up post processing, set the animations to play at startup, and record your screen. Here’s an example:

It looks great and render in real-time. No baking necessary.