how do you make a simple screensaver ?

Well, I’ll tell you, I’m not a programmer, good modeler, or a game maker. I would hoever like to make a screensaver with some simple 3D in it.

for example, I’d like to take a logo, perhaps spin it around, and loop it. saving it out as a screensaver. Seems pretty easy right? well after I animate the logo, then what.
is it some scripting needed?

How do you save it properly?

where is this information? One thing I wish there was more of was simple tutorials to accomplish a single task in blender. There are good ones out there, it’s just so difficult to find the right one in the time anyone has.

if you know how to do this, give me a step 1. 2. 3. Later on, other people will benefit from this thread, so explain it the best you can.

How screen savers are called and implemented depends on what operating system you use and since you don’t tell us no one can help you. If you are on windows you can probably find a screen saver that plays an avi file of your choice. Not sure if the game engine can be used as a screensaver as I know next to nothing about it.

GreyBeard

The Blender player can be used to make a Windows screen saver. Read about it in the releaselog of Blender version 2.36 under Game Engine:

http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Blender_2_36.384.0.html

Where exactly is it on that page? The page is very long. I never knew about this screensaver thing. Like to learn how to use it myself.

In the Game Engine part of the releaselog…

Where exactly is it on that page? The page is very long.

g, man use that CTRL F thing and type ‘saver’, you lazy bastard . just kiding.

anyway I pasted it here, realy interesting :slight_smile:

Support added for Windows screen saver in Blender player;

Any blenderplayer.exe (with the patch applied) can be renamed into something.scr, and it will behave as a Windows screen saver.