How likely is Blender to adopt NeRF?

I’m no expert on this, just some guy who has been reading news here and there. NeRF has been talked about a lot recently. Some people even speculate it will replace ray-tracing, or at least be an alternative option to it. I know Blender already has 2 NeRF addons, but they’re missing some features that makes NeRF potentially revolutionary.

From my understanding, NeRF is fundamentally different from traditional 3d, so it isn’t like switching from the Blender Internal to Cycles, which was just changing the render engine. So I wonder, is it likely that Blender adopts NeRF? Or is it more likely that there will be completely new softwares that use NeRF instead of traditional 3d?

From Wikipedia:

A neural radiance field (NeRF ) is a method based on deep learning for reconstructing a three-dimensional representation of a scene from sparse two-dimensional images.

…so why would someone make a complete 3D scene to render some dozen 2D image to create a 3D scene again ???

Also… AFAIK it’s showing a static scene how do you so any interaction with this… (yet) ?

And yes… you need something like a “nerf-engine” to “render” the 3D data without the detour of using a “traditional” 3D render engine… (i do not know the addons you mentined…)

1 Like

One addon is called BlenderNeRF, and the other is called NeRFStudio.

It’s probably a bit too much for me to explain NeRF in words. There are many videos on different possibilities of NeRF. I’ll show you some.

NeRF was originally made for photogrammetry, hence the sentence about it creating a 3D scene from 2D images. In a Nvidia paper, https://research.nvidia.com/labs/rtr/publication/muller2021nrc/, if I understand it correctly, it seems to blend NeRF with path-tracing to speed up the rendering times by a lot, without the need for 2D images generated before.

1 Like

Oh… in fact i do know what they are… and it is somekind of fascinating… interesting to be able to “navigate” in the produced data…