How much RAM do I need these days

In short: How much RAM is recommended these days?

In longer: I have the equivalent of a gaming PC and it’s starting to show its age and limits. I’m currently at 8GB of RAM and I’m thinking about getting 16 with my next upgrade. I’m just a hobbyist right now, but freelance isn’t out of the question, so would even more be recommended?

Also, while your here, are there any good bottleneck checking techniques you know of?

Depends on what you do. Low poly? 8 Gb are enough. Even for single character with couple million polys it should be enough. Multires modifier could be a problem and sinmulations. So i would say an upgrade is good when you can do it. Its just more fun to work.

For the bottleneck maybe this website: https://pc-builds.com/calculator/

I was running 1 - 1.2 million polys with 4gbn and no problems on old pc. 16gb should be enough unless you’re looking to do something pretty extreme.

As much as you can afford and squeeze into your computer.

I have 32Gb and would rather have 64Gb. Do I need it all for Blender? Probably not, but It’s nice to have as typically I also might have a lot of other programs running at the same time: browser with 30+ tabs open, Spotify, Photoshop and too many other things to mention.

4 Likes

I have used an old optiplex desktop 780 with 4GB, and used a laptop with 8GB and an I core 5 processor.

I was trying to do last year, the ocean tutorial by cggeek. It wasn’t up for it. So unfortunately, I couldn’t continue with project, I wanted to add an island somehow into it, but the renders would take hours just for a four of five second clip.

There is an option to purchase a render farm, but that isn’t worth the cost over many hours. Ten or more.

I think anything like what is suggested is good to have more, but processing power is still important too.

Atleast 16 gigs. But as much as you can.

Hm. These responses are certainly giving me something to think about.