How Save image to file from render

Okay so I got a working script, and this script projects a texture on a plane from a camera that takes it’s view from the scene. It’s called render to texture, this works fine. Problem is I don’t know how to convert the projected texture on the plane to an image and save it, I would be happy to save it as numpy as well directly without saving image to file first.

My problem is I’m new to this, I don’t understand arrays and pixel manipulation.
I do understand tho the Bge texture class, how to render and what everything there does, I put effort into understanding it. Also I do not want to use BPY, I know how to save images with bpy but BPY is useless once you start the BGE game engine on stand alone mode, it’s functions no longer work ? even more if you want to patch BGE blender to a stand alone game console…
I am using UPBGE alpha 3.

The code

import bge
controller = bge.logic.getCurrentController()
own = controller.owner

## get current scene
scene = bge.logic.getCurrentScene()  

# check to see variable RenderToTexture has been created
if "RenderToTexture" in own:

# update the texture
 own["RenderToTexture"].refresh(True)

# if variable RenderToTexture hasn't been created
else:

# import VideoTexture module
 import VideoTexture

# get a list of objects in the scene
 ownList = scene.objects

cameraName = own['cam']

cam = scene.cameras[cameraName]
 print(cameraName)

# get the texture material ID, identify the object by logic editor object name and it's material.
 matID = bge.texture.materialID(own, "MA" + own['material'])

# set the texture , to my understanding this will set a blank texture on specified object and it's material 
 # name specified in the logic editor game properties, so source can write  over it, write the data it 
 # captured from  camera view over the set texture. So this tells where to place texture for source to print on.
 renderToTexture = VideoTexture.Texture(own, matID)