How to animate to music in phrases?

I am starting with a piece of music that occurs in distinct phrases of several seconds each (total length is 1 min 40 sec).

I want to invent animation synchronized with each phrase that together tells an entertaining story.

I am using Blender 2.79b, and I am a beginner, having taken some CG Cookie courses but still not fluent in using Blender. For this reason, I can’t simply translate my imagination into people (or even stick figures) running around and doing things. Man, I wish I could!

I’ve decided to animate letters of the alphabet to dance around and end up spelling a message to the viewer (happy birthday). I figure that if I can animate one letter rotating and moving up and down to look like it is dancing, I can do this for all the letters in the message by repeating all the labor for each letter and each keyframe. Should be a lot of work.

I’ve succeeded in entering text for the message, converting the text to mesh, and cutting the mesh into separate objects, one for each 3-D letter. I’ve succeeded in importing the music so it plays as I drag the frame pointer or play the animation. I’ve succeeded in rendering the animation and exporting it as an .mkv video file (I’d rather have the option to create .mp3 and .gif animations, but these seem to be impossible with Blender).

Now, my main question is this: what kind of workflow can I employ to isolate each phrase in the music and make the letters dance around within that phrase?

For example, the first phrase of the music is a kind of horn fanfare that lasts 4 seconds. How can I make the timeline show just the first 4 seconds, create appropriate keyframes for tweening, then quickly tween each motion within that 4 seconds?