How to control real time a hand model, with arduino, flex sensors and voltage dividers?

Hello. I want to make a project where using arduino, flex sensors and voltage dividers, and I want to control real time a hand model in blender (which is rigging ready). I’m using version 3.2.1. The program on the arduino is ready and essentially gives in a continuous loop, the serial output with some voltage values from 5 voltage dividers (which values I can convert into coordinates). But I’m very new with blender and I don’t know how to make the scripting in blender. I have found and I can import the serial library as well as bpy. Could someone please help me by giving me some guidance? Thank you.

Welcome to BA :slight_smile:

As an Arduino enthusiast myself, I think it’s really cool what you’re doing here. That being said, I think you’re getting ahead of yourself a bit - for a complex task like this, it may help to break it down into smaller, achievable steps.

For example, right now you have the serial output from the voltage dividers, but that information is meaningless as currently encoded. Start by figuring out the math to convert this to coordinates. You don’t need any scripting to do this, you can just open the n panel sidebar, go to item, and see bone positions. Pose your fingers in a few extremes- stretched out, pointing down, in a fist- and write all those location values down. Make the same motions with your wearable control and compare them- how much does the voltage change compared to the bone location? Is it a factor of 10 bigger? A factor of 100 smaller?

1 Like

Thank you for the answer! I have thought about doing what is described, but I don’t know how this is “translated” into script.