How to find the "Use Nodes Button" and hotkey prob - Newbie here

Hi!

Brand new to Blender here. Loving it but frustrated at times.

I did a search both of the web at large and of these forums and couldn’t find an answer.

I’m following this tutorial right now: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ay7fgeQC1WI at 8:20 in the tutorial, he wants you to click on the “Use Nodes” button. Except I don’t seem to have one. No such button anywhere in the interface I can find.

I’m using version 2.71 on Win 7. In case it matters. Has this button been phased out/moved? (The tutorial is using ver 2.6 something.) Where should I go to find the same button? Or what should I do instead?

The manual is way challenging. It’s semi okay at telling you WHAT things do, (providing you can figure out what those things even MEAN) but (at least for a newbie like me) doesn’t seem to say what buttons to press TO DO those things. Am I possibly missing some big/important part of the manual that I haven’t located yet?

I’m not entirely a graphics newbie, though I’m hardly an expert. Most of my experience has been with Photoshop and Adobe/Macromedia (yeah, way back then) Flash. I had Maya for a year or so, a few years back, but lost my program to a house fire.

So now I’m learning this stuff all over again.

Another wacky question: The most efficient way of using Blender seems to be via hotkeys. And – ARGH! --that’s what most of the tutorials I’ve found use. My computer recognizes hotkeys JUST FINE in most programs but in Blender, for some reason, it refuses to.

For instance, if I want to scale, I can slam down the S key six ways to Sunday, input my variables and NOTHING HAPPENS. Zero, nada, zip. If I want it to work, I have to select “Scale” from the side menu and go from there. (Then the rest of the hotkeys work,) Except when it intermittently works.