How to improve duplicating hierarchies

Hello,

I am new to Blender, but experienced with 3D packages in general (mostly Maya).

I have a hierarchy of objects parented under an empty. What I would like to do is repeatedly duplicate the empty (in place) and have it also duplicate the children along with it. I will be doing this over and over.

Searching these forums it appears that this isn’t really possible as a 1 or 2 step process. Specifically, as far as I can tell I need to do this:

1. Select the top-most item (in this case, the empty).
  2. Hit shift-G to bring up a menu of selection options.
  3. Select “Children” to select the actual children.
  4. Hit shift-D to duplicate the selected items.
  5. Hit enter to prevent them from translating to an unknown location (i.e. don’t move the mouse before hitting enter).
  6. Unparent the objects by selecting the menu item Object -> Parent -> Clear Parent.
  7. Create a new empty by clicking on Add -> Empty -> Plain Axis
  8. Selecting my newly unparented objects in the outliner as well as my new empty (selecting the empty last)
  9. Hit shift-P to parent the objects under the empty (though in my case that isn’t working so maybe I misunderstand parenting still - I have just been manually dragging objects to parent them)
  10. Select the new empty and move to move it to where the original empty was.
  • Can someone tell me if I have this correct?

• If not, is there a more efficient way to do this?

• Finally, if this (or something near it) is the best/only way to accomplish what I am trying to do, is there a way to automate the process? I am fairly proficient in python programming and so if this seems like the kind of thing that could be automated, I would be willing to take a stab at it. If so, could someone point me to the correct terminology of what I am trying to do so that I can start researching it? (i.e. is it called scripting, macros, automation, plug-ins, add-ons? Something else?)