How to make a bomb?

Hello, this is my first post, I have searched for almost a week now and yet it seems that I either dont know how to search for tutorial effectively, or there is not much that could help me. I really hope there is someone that can help me or point me at the right direction. I believe you had similar moments where you wished someone gave you a hand. Any help will be appreciated.

I am a Computer Science student, I have 3 years experience with Java, C++ and some other languages such as JavaScript and Lisp etc.

The problem:
I would like to recreate the game Bomberman in blender. For those who know what Bomberman is, skip the following short paragraph.

Bomberman:
Players compete with each other in a maze-like arena filled with blocks. Players can plant bombs to blow up obstacles and also defeat other players. There are obstacles that can and cannot be blew up. The bomb, once set, will explode after a certain time, and the “flame” of the explosion is shaped like a cross. Anything that is affected (touched) by this cross-shaped flame will be affected. (Except walls that are indestructable)

My problem is mainly about the bomb, at least at the moment. I am wondering how do I make the player character to plant a bomb that will do something automatically after a time period, and also, when it explodes, how should i remove the bomb?

I have currently implemented the maze and the player character, which is just a cylinder, and the player can plant bomb by pressing space. That will trigger an “Edit Object” Actuator which place an object OB:Bomb into the current location.

I have searched in the game logic and Python API for classes that support timing of events, I have also went through the short list of BGE tutorials in Blender wiki. However no luck.

I would greatly appreciate it if someone can suggest me a way of implementing it. It will also be very helpful to kindly point me to the correct materials that I can study.