How to render a texture over a terrain?

I am new to Blender. I am seeking guidance to 1. import into Blender the digital elevation model, stored in this single channel TIFF raster image http://homepage.mac.com/gregcoats/bryce/images/terrain_01_Byte.tif
2. import into Blender the texture map, stored in this 3 channel RGB TIFF image http://homepage.mac.com/gregcoats/bryce/images/texture_01.tif
3. then have Blender render the texture map over the terrain model, with a vertical exaggeration of 3.0, to create a perspective view similar to this image http://homepage.mac.com/gregcoats/bryce/images/rendered_05.jpg
Greg

Hi Coatman, welcome to BA.com!
I did a quick example using 2.54, hopefully you can learn what you need from it. You will have to re add the pictures as I’m not packing them in for size reasons, the elevation data is a hightmap, and the texture is in under colormap.
I turned on GLSL so you can see all the prettiness in view port, but that wont effect a standard render.

note: a strength of 3 didn’t give quite the same results as the example you posted, so I turned it up to 5.

Feel free to do whatever with it, even use it and claim it as your own work if you want. :wink:
Let me know if you have any questions, I’ll keep an eye on this thread for the day.

I have to ask though, where did you get the height map from? it was totally set up and ready to go.

Attachments

ATSkill land maping example.blend (481 KB)

Using Blender 2.5

1. make a plane, and make sure to subdivide it heartily (at least 25 subdivisions per side).
  2. create a new texture for the plane by selecting it and going to the materials panel, and clicking “Add New”
  3. UV-unwrap the plane by going into edit mode, pressing the “u” key, and pressing “Smart Project”
  4. Add a new texture by going to the textures panel with the plane still selected
  5. Change the type to “image/video” and “open” the color image you have
  6. Make sure to change the “Mapping” coordinates from “Generated” to “UV”