How to use python to convert text into a mesh and then separate each letter?

I’d like to write a python script to do an effect on text that is selected.

First I’d like to convert the text into a mesh and then separate the letters into their own standalone mesh that can be animated independently. When I do this manually, I use the convert to mesh menu option ( bpy.ops.objects.convert() ). Then I go into edit mode, select the left most letter using a box, then hit P ( bpy.ops.mesh.separate() ). I do that last part for each letter until they are all separated.

The problem is that I don’t know of a python API way to select an individual letter. I have to do that part by eye now. Is there an API way to discover separate “sub-meshes” within a mesh? Or do I have to do some sort of algorithm where I figure it by iterating through all the faces and put them into sets or something?

(BTW… Heads up… I’m new to blender, but know python and programming pretty well)

you can use Mesh > Vertices > Separate > By loose parts
bpy.ops.mesh.separate(type=‘LOOSE’)

but it really depends on the font. If a letter consists of multiple, separated parts, it will get separated of course. You could rejoin the parts, but not determine what belongs together with python.

Another way would be to get the text of the font object with python and create a font object for every letter, then turn it into mesh. The problem here would be to determine where to place the single letters…

The effect I’m trying to produce is similar to what is done in this video. Notice how the letters in word “RUGBY” appear by falling into place from left to right. It’s as if each one is attached with a hinge at the top edge of the letter.

That effect could be accomplished using RE:Lay and RE:Phrase together. RE:Phrase for the text layout and specifying the words as well as adjusting the rotational axis point.

Then use RE:Lay for transferring a delayed version of the same animation throughout each RE:Phase character.