How would I go about modelling this hair style?

I’ve never done a full 3D model before but, I do know a bit about it. I’ve been using 3DS Max for seven years but, never really got into creating full models.

I’m creating my own Sonic The Hedgehog character, and so I basically I need this hairstyle…

on this head

As you can see I used Shadow The Hedgehog as a base and already done some edits to him.
I was thinking about using the hair particles for this but, I want to know if there are any other methods.

Heres a quick geonodes vertex group based scatter approach.

Hope that helps.

2 Likes

Give this a look:

2 Likes

Nah, not procedural enough!

1 Like

Haha yeah if you’re going for procedural your method is definitely better :slight_smile: I personally like having ultra precise control over hair strands

1 Like

Never knew about this. Thanks!
I may have questions for later though.

2 Likes

I’ll clear my diary. :wink:

1 Like

Ok so I’m just now getting into this. Could you do a step-by-step?
I’m not too familiar with this setup.

sonic_style.zip (717.7 KB)

heres a file.

Steps are.

1. in edit mode make a vertex group of where you want the hair to be.

2. add a geonodes modifier.

3. select the group here by clicking on selection and picking yr group.

1. spend the last two years learning geonodes.

2. Really have a look at the file, then ask some more specific questions…

3 Likes

^snicker^. And there’s the rub, aside from the lesser control. Though that setup isn’t actually so bad; it takes less effort to understand it than it would take creating it from scratch. Thanks! That’ll come in handy for something I want to do. tiptoes back out of the thread.

2 Likes

Ok how would I shape the hair to what I want it to be? Like combing.

Couple of ways, one is with the new hair system, it allows you to comb and cut, Ill post that later, its stupid o’clock here now.

1 Like