How would you model this simple cornice ?

Hello, this is my first post here and I am new to blender.
I’m coming from AutoCAD modelling, a while back…
Below is a sketch of mine of what I want to model :

Specifically the cornices. I’ve started the model and have the walls layed out.
From my brief aquaintance with Blender I have a couple of ideas.
I want your input to understand if I’m thinking the “blender way” about this, since I’m coming from a different modelling background.
Start with the lower cornice - the L profile protrusion:

• Extrude edge on four sides of the room, from the wall horizontally making an horiz. face.
  • Then extrude the edge of that vertically
  • Then tilt that in.

What about the small top cornice, with the more complicated profile?

• Make a path as a wedge against the top corner, in section.
  • Then boolean add to have the corners.

Who finds this odd and has a more obvious way?
Thank you.

Christos

Here is a screenshot of my first Blender model. I started with the walls.
The wood screen goes to the area highlighted in yellow.
The cornices crown the walls

to create tubes and other (industrial extruded shapes like wiring, or chair legs) simple use nurbs, you can loft a nurbs circle over a nurbs path, (you can even adjust size of the loft by another curve and so vary size… but lets forget about that for this).
After you’ve done that you can change the circle to match your profile.
The nice thing about these nurbs is that while the circle was lofted over the nurbspath, you can still deform the nurbs path
So you can bend the path that the lofted object folows, so you can make rounded shaped curves.
If you want straight corners between walls, then you can simply copy a non bended nurbspath, and turn that path as object 90 degrees (R + Z + 90).