How would you place a texture that is both a bit inside and a bit outside a the mask of the model?

Hello everybody,

Since I’m a beginner in Blender, I may ask a stupid question but still here we go.
Here is my problem:

I notice that there are basically 3 zones in any rendering of an human model.

• The field textures like the skin on the thigh or the back or the cheek. They cover an area that is grossly the same.
  • The transition textures. They are the textures used where a bulging muscle blend into a surface like the biceps into the shoulder or the calves…
  • The border textures. This is where the model meets the background. They are on the border, a bit inside and a bit outside the model on a plane parallel to the camera sensor.

I have all the textures I need. I have no problem with the first and second ones.

I have a problem with the 3rd. It should appear only on the outline of the model.

How would you do that?
I’ll send pictures if needed.

Are you sure those things are in any rendering of a human model? I mean I rendered many human models in the past and never seen anything similar to those textures

I would love to help but I can’t imagine how should it look like.

Please send pictures :slight_smile:

Not related to the post

2 Likes

Thanks for the answer. Here are the images explaining a bit better what I mean:

The border texture has been place manually in Photoshop. I’d like to do it 3D automatically.

My wording might not be what it should because I’m not Native English speaker and I’m not a 3D guy, I’m a photographer. So my ideas might be different from yours. (not better, just different).

It doesn’t actually work that way, like jerzygorskiart suggested.

Think about what happens as you rotate that leg. Even if you do map the border texture to the edge of the leg-- which would not be easy-- the texture, which includes things like hairs, would appear to be still. It would be very disturbing to watch :slight_smile: