I am a self-learning beginner and start to struggle: advice needed

Hi guys,

so as mentioned in the title: I am learning 3d on my own and watched so many youtube tutorials, bought some online courses, tried things out. But the more I learn the more I feel overwhelmed and disabled at the moment. I made some modelling and scultping, I’ve learned about texturing (shader edtior in Blender, Substance Painter), last week I’ve learned much about lighting, I tried out some animation as well…

The point is: I watched out for some project ideas to go further (by looking for references on Pinterest, Google image search, works of other artists) but whatever I look at I start to think “uuuh… look at object XY… I’m sure I will not manage to get the proportions / overall form right” or “look at this pattern on the sofa - I don’t know if I’ll manage to create this pattern or if I’ll find a fitting texture somewhere in the internet”. I constantly limit myself as I already have an idea what work it is to create something I see on an image but I also know that I still lack so much skill and experience.

Additionally I have the problem that I still don’t know what I want: creating environments? Creating props and objects? Animations? Characters? Abstract art? I don’t know…

I know that in general I am my strictest critic and if I do not achieve the level of accuracy that I demand I judge myself quite unfair. This is for sure stopping me at the moment as I fear I will fail and I fear my critic then :slight_smile: But as I can imagine that there are people like me out there in this 3d world… how did you manage to go through this? If you have no project in mind (or way too many) how do you manage to simply go on and to find a focus project again?

Any suggestion / idea / thinking about this would be highly appreciated.

I think this is step one.