I am struggling with donut texturing

Hey everyone or anyone!
can any body help as I am new to blender…I am struggling with the famous Blender Donut tutorial from blender Guru but I am suffering to make the dough look realistic just like Andrew Price mine looks a bit plastic like/cartoonish/rock like and as far as I can tell I have done everything right and I have tried it 3 to 4 times but I am no way able to achieve the look I think that is maybe because he is using older version as it is 2 years old and mine is 2.93.1 so please help.
Here are screenshots of nodes and result

That is the result of Andrew Price’s result his looks better halfway than mine

link to the tutorial

Here is my project file

First off, welcome to the community, @AhmadKhan! I have to say that yours looks pretty great! I think yours looks tastier than Andrews, but the plastic/flatness I think is more of an issue with the lighting than the shading. His donut has a little more interest because you can see the transition from light to dark which sells both the texture and the subsurface scattering. Before making big changes to your shading, try moving your light around a bit/making it smaller.

Let us know how it goes!

1 Like

This is what I’m thinking. His donut looks more like a real fried donut. Blender Guru’s is more cakey in comparison.

1 Like

Thank you I feel so good to be in such a responsive and encouraging community.haahahahahah that just made my day… thank you so much for such kind words and thank you again for your feedback I will definitely try moving my light! Much appreciated :slight_smile:
Will update you how it went.
btw do you think I should be that much concerned about photorealism in the beginning or should I just first get familiar with the interface and then master these things?

hahahahah thank you so much! Well okay then now I am donut expert from now on:)

1 Like

You are the donut king!

1 Like

okay then now I am…man thank you so much… you guys are love

1 Like