I import an image into UV Editing, but the image is not showing up, why? (with screenshot)

I’m trying to add an image to this coin I am making.
However, the image I am importing does not even show up in the UV Editing tab display.
I imported a .png and .jpg version, both don’t show.
Why is it not showing up? I “unwrapped” the face I want.

Two reasons- you’re in the 3D viewport, not the image editor or UV editor, and you’re in solid view, and the texture won’t show up until you switch to Rendered View (Z)

1 Like

Is the image texture node in your material setup? You may have to create a new material and add the image.

3 Likes

Was just gonna request a screenshot of the node setup! You got there first!

2 Likes

@Charles_Weaver, @joseph, @PMDesigns thanks , it was nodes (I’m new to Blender!)
I got the image onto my model coin. my next question is: how do I rotate the texture so its the same way as the image at the bottom left? (The image on the reverse side is the correct way up).

The reverse side of my model coin(correct):

Go into the UV editor, select everything with A, and press R to rotate the UV map. For precision, you could either activate snapping by holding down ctrl, or manually type in a number. (180° in this case)

2 Likes

getting there… I’m trying to add a height and normals map to it. But in the image below when I try and plug Bump-> into Normal the main image vanishes. How do I properly insert heightand normal map here?

Click on “Color Space” in your normal map and set it to “Non-Color”. Then add a Normal Map node and place it right in between your normal map and the bump node.

1 Like

do you mean like this? The image still appears flat on my coin. What am I missing?

may be easier to drop your file here, there could be a lot of things causing it to look like there is no bump/normal info. lighting, engine, etc. Have you checked to make sure your bump/normal stuff is correctly lined up in the UV editor?

1 Like