I make a AK-47 please give me advice

Hi i am new in Blender this is not my first Render.

Material is from poliigon, i adjust the gamma and normal maps.

Please give me advice and tips.

Thanks WolfpathX

1 Like

Hi i dont know mutch about rendering, but maybe if you make it look more dirty or used, make it look more real.

hi in the beginning i have the idea, but i want it clean.
Some scratch would look nice. thanks for the critics

1 Like

Right off the bat…most of your metals look like they are cast aluminum. I would either remove the roughness map or if you are using principled shader and the map…disconnect it and lower your roughness slider to get a more polished look and lower your normal map if you have one. Also needs to be a gunmetal color which on your base color go with a real dark blue.

The receiver area with the gritty black texture looks great! I would see if you could get a normal map for your wood grain, that would add a lot to it.

2 Likes

Great start! I would tone the bump/roughness on the metal down a lot, guns are just not that rough. Work on making the hard shapes more defined, it looks like you have used subsurface modifiers which give it a very rounded appearance and can be difficult to control in blender. I would look into bevel weights for the bevel modifier (in edit mode>>edge settings) and the bevel hotkey for hardsurface modeling (CTRL-B). It also looks like the proportions of the gun are off in certain areas using a side view of an AK-47 in blender could fix that. keep up the work!

2 Likes

Hi thank you,

I fix this

I reduce the bump and make it darker and i scale the bump. i never notice that is to much.
Thank you for the tip i dont know with the bevel.

I use a preference.

Thank you for your help you help me a lot

Sweet, It’s looking much better! I made a little .gif so you can see what I mean:
beveltutorial
Basically you can control the amount of bevel non-destructively with the weight modifiers.