I need help with rigging

I have a problem with shoulder and the finish on the edge. When I try to lift the arm, it created something bizarre as you can see. I do not know how to fix it. I am new to rigging. I used FK bones to lift it. Rig is from Rigify. It deforms vey badly. Is there any way to fix this?

This is the rig preview on how I lifted. Please help guys!

You need to work on your weight painting… The arm bone is influencing a lot of the torso area… More weight to spine and shoulders there.
And blur/soften the weight paint when needed (sharp folds)
Then if that doesn’t solve the issue…corrective shape keys.
Sometimes adding support bones can help.

You need to watch tutorials about the above. Hard to explain by text. Start with weight painting.

1 Like

To further what cgPixel is suggesting, adding shoulder bones (running from neck-area to top of upper-arm bone) can solve these weird deformations with the least extra work on your part.

In general, shoulders and wrists are some of the most difficult joints to rig satisfactorally – the bones there have much larger required range-of-motion’s than any other bones in the human body.

In this first image, notice that there are shoulder bones:

In this second image, notice that I’m using bendyBones with Inherit_End_Roll on. The arm is rigged with a standard IK (Inverse Kinematics), so the 2 arm bones don’t bend too much, but what I hope you notice is that the Inherit_End_Roll is letting the bones TWIST. With a higher-density mesh, this lets the foreArm behave a bit more like a normal human foreArm (twisting). The end out-twist depends on the rotation of the hand-bone that is hidden in these images.

1 Like

Hey @shannonz and @cgPixel .

I have tried to make your recommendation but I couldn’t make it. If you are available, could you help me? I will upload the blend fille. If you are available, can you check it?

Uploading: Jack_Poses.zip…

Slow internet? Your file is stuck at “Uploading…”