I'm givin up for a while

I am beginning to work on a Black Jack game and I was wondering if there was a way to generate a random number between 1-52 and send that integer as the subject of a message. My whole game depends on this. If anyone knows a way, preferrably without the use of python, then please tell me. Thank you.

there is no way without useing python, but i doubt if python has a *rnd function…

jacco;

import random

get a random number by using range() and the number in parentheses.

you’ll get 0-whatever yor number.

Could you elaborate a little more. I have no python experience at all. If it’s no trouble, could you tell me how to do this? Thanks.

[EDIT] I got the random number thing worked out, now I just need to know how to send a property as the subject of a message. I figured out how to send the property as the body of the message, but that doesn’t help because I don’t know how to take the body of the message as input to decide whether or not to do something like you can with the subject of the message. So if anyone can do either of these things, please let me know. THanks again.

add an sensor and python controller to an empty give it an integer prop called draw and set the python controller to run this script call it draw
every time the sensor sends a pulse a random number between 0 and 52
you will have to tweak it to stop it generating 0
cont=GameLogic.getCurrentController()
own=cont.getOwner()

draw=own.draw
draw=GameLogic.getRandomFloat()*52
own.draw=draw

Thanks. I think I found an easier way. To try to make this way even easier I have another question. Is there a way to set a sensor to see if a variable is equal to another variable. Well, property. Thanks again.

EDIT : Nope, nevermind. I’m back to square one.