I'm having huge problems with this logo/text object project.

Hey, I’m new to blender. I’m a UX/Graphic designer professionally but recently wanted to start getting into Game and 3D stuff.

I figured that it might be kind of nice to use Blender to make a 3D logo. I’m having a bugger of a time though.

First Try

I took a font and put it in Photoshop which I am most comfortable with. I arranged the text together in a composition. Roughly what I thought I’d like to do. My plan was to take some text, extrude it, and then bend it around a central point. Kind of like the old japanese Voltron logo:

I then took the PNG, took it to Illustrator and Image Traced it a vector format so that I could then export it as an SVG to Blender.

When I imported it into blender it came out look pretty gross. The image trace left a lot to be desired. It didn’t give it nice super minimalist vector like the original font. Instead it was super choppy. I then converted it from a curve into a mesh and then extruded it and then spent something like 6 hours cleaning up the mesh until I had a nice clean mesh. I then chopped it up sideways using the bisect tool to give it places to curve when I applied Simple Deform Bend, and then used AutoSmooth to get rid of the weird triangles in post render.

It came out look like this:

Eeehhh… not exactly what I wanted. I decided I need to change the font. The back (which I built from primitives) came out fine but the text was too hard to read.

Second Try

Okay so I’m going to try again, and this time I want things to look cleaner, so I don’t have to spend another 7 hours fixing the mesh. Also because in the process of fixing the mesh I kind of messhed up the letters, sort of squished them around too much and stuff.