I'm sorry everyone :(...

It’s kinda hard to resist when the full version of Maya Unlimited 4.0 is handed to you. The reason why I haven’t been frequenting these boards much is because I’ve been over at highend3d.com. I’m a newbie all over again. But I must say that I still use Blender to model in. It’s extremely easy to pull a DXF into Maya! I’m still getting the hang of the ‘hypergraph’ texture editor though.

It just seems like all of the sudden… What I’ve had to program in python in the past is either built into Maya (grass->paintFX and hair->Maya Fur tangix->Rigid and Soft Body Dynamics) or someone else has programmed it in MEL (Maya editing language).

But I want to say something…

After a month of using Maya I’m very proficient at it. All my knowledge from Blender carried over extremely well to this package. Blender wasn’t (and will never be) a waste of time for me. I can’t praise the people at NaN or the awesome community enough for what they’ve given me.

I’ll still be around to give back to the community.

That’s excellent that you’ve advanced in the world of 3D.

As a newbie to 3D modelling, I was handed Maya and Blender too, and the recent closure of NaN forced me to consider whether it was worth learning Blender since it potentially has no future. But instead, I stuck with this message board, bought Carsten’s (excellent) Blender Book, and have thoroughly enjoyed the ride.

I’ll see Maya in a year or three, but first I gotta become a Blendah Mastah!

Cheers, Sprite

Hey, Ripsting, where are these copies of Maya unlimited being handed out? (joke)

Seriously, it doesn’t matter which package you use, as long as you make cool stuff with it.

regards

brian.

All i am happy about is you leave here with the pride of using blender instead of flaming us for using blender because you have found something else.

SAYING
When you become big it is easy to forget who put you there.

Good luck

Nims :smiley: