Import curve as svg, extrude and bevel it

Hello! I’m very new to blender, coming to it to create some models for 3d-printing.

I have this shape as a svg-file (see “1”, I’m not allowed to post multiple images so I merged them to one image).

And want to extrude and bevel it like this (view from the side, see “2”):

How is it done? I already tried 2 things, one as a curve and another as a mesh, both results where not very good.

So I removed the filling from the svg (found that this gives odd vertexes inside the object), imported the svg via File → Import → .svg. I went to “Object data properties” → Shape → 2D
→ Fill mode: Front
→ Geometry: Extrude 0.008m
So far it looks good (See “3”).

→ Bevel: Profile, Depth 0.004m
This seems to enlarge the object, removing the gap between the 2 spikes in the right bottom corner, which I don’t want (See “4”).

→ Trying it with Bevel: Profile, Depth -0.004m
Nope, thats also not what I want (See “5”).

Any idea on how to achieve a bevel which doesn’t enlarge the obejct?

The other thing I tried was to import the svg and convert it to a mesh.
In edit mode, I pressed E and Z, to extrude it in the z-axis (See “6”).

Now I’m here, but I don’t now how to continue. I select “Bevel”, but it seems no matter what I’m doing then nothing is happening.

An help is welcome :wink:

You can’t really bevel an edge that’s only adjacent to one face on one side.

In case of “6”, you could try to hit “I” to inset the shape first, and then hit “F” to close it, since you wont need to worry that much about ngons as long as they’re planar.

Then, you could bevel the old top edge selected in “6”, which would now bevel correctly given it has faces on either side that it can bevel “into”.

it is VERY IMPORTANT to apply the scale of the object (in object mode, press CMD/CTRL+A and choose scale), or else the bevel will give weird results. Same goes for the bevel modifier.