import/export scripts not working under 2.33?!?

hi

i’m a newbie to blender, but i did manage to install scorpius’s file import/export scripts. however, they don’t seem to be working. no matter which file format i’m trying to import, i always get a ‘python script error’ message.

i’m usinig blender v2.33 for mac os x.

anybody else experience this kind of thing? any idea how it might be helped?

i’m desperately trying to exchange files between blender and wings 3d. vrml 2 doesn’t seem to be working, either. any help would be greatly appreciated.

mic

I don’t have access to OSX, but I think the interface is sweet.
Here are some things to try to solve the problem:

1. There might be some old Python 2.2 pyc files in your
    /Blender/.blender/scripts/ directory. If so, delete them.

2. Make sure you have Python 2.3.3 installed.

3. Install the latest update of the suite from my page;
    overwrite the old ones in your scripts directory.

hm, maybe the problem is with the python version: mac os x 10.3 panther comes with python 2.3 included. apparently, that cannot be easily updated to v2.3.3.

does anybody know how to install python v2.3.3 under mac os x panther?

has anybody successfully run scorpius’s scripts under panther?

Are you sure you have the correct blender-2.33-1-darwin-7.3-powerpc version ?

the blender-2.33-darwin-6.6-powerpc is for 10.2.

the blender-2.33-darwin-7.3-powerpc had some weak libraries linking causing problems to peoples which does not have the darwinports.

the differences between 2.3.3 and 2.3 is only bug fixes and should not cause any harm. Before release I’ve tested a variety of scripts (but not Scorpius suite) and they all worked fine. So that I can test this evening, please provide a link to these scripts.

Now if you absolutly want to use 2.3.3, you can use the 10.2 build and install python 2.3.3 with fink. You will have both 2.3.3 and 2.3 in your system, but at differnet locations, and it should not be a problem.