Importing models

Hello I am a total newby with Blender,just started working with this engine this week.
I have the following problem :

I have some models that can be opened with sketch up 8,and I exported them like a Collada type of file.So far so good.
When I imported them in BGE I faced some problems in moving the whole model to the area that I want,without dismantling it,I just could scale it but I can’t move it as whole.So I saved the model as a blender type of file now,and when I tried to import it after I reopened BGE,I pressed file / append / found it picked it with right click and pressed the button top right of the screen that says link/append from library and nothing happens,or they appeared somewhere where I can’t see them.I tried to mess around with the options a bit and all I managed is to get a “this is no library” error.

Any help? thanks in advance

Firstly, verify that the .blend file does indeed have information in it.

Navigate to wherever you saved the blend file, open it, make sure that the stuff is there.

Then, if possible, attach the .blend file to a post on this thread. That way people can look at it and get a better grasp of what might be going wrong.

Checked all that you said and it is ok.I upload it now.Btw it is not my model,I downloaded it from the google warehouse to use it.Also a question,do I need to press “go advanced” everytime to attach files?

Attachments

Water_Trawler_28ft.blend (748 KB)

Hmm, I can link/append the boat fine.

File > Append > Selected the Water_Trawler_28ft.blend > Scene (folder) > Scene (thingy to append) > Link/Append from Library (the button in the upper right-hand corner)

Have you had trouble with different blend files? Try appending a different .blend file.

It may be possible that something is wrong with your blender installation. Maybe try downloading a previous version of blender, like 2.64, to see if that fixes the problem?

And yes, you do have to “Go Advanced” to post attachments.