Improving the detail of scenes

Hi everyone i’ve been using Blender for a few months now but have sort of hit a brick wall so to speak, with any scene i make i get the basics down but then my mind goes blank and i just cant make the scene stick out if you will with little details, so i really want to get your opinion on how i can improve my scenes!

Here is a scene i recently finished yet it still looks very bare bones.

Depends what you mean by “little details”, it always helps to have at least a rough idea of where you want to go with an image. Do you want to add extra objects? extrat details to the objects? Do you want to model them or represent them with textures? What is your “point” to the image? Where do you want the focal point to be?
When starting out or “noodling”, it is easy to do something without a clear idea of what you want to use it for, I’m very guilty of that myself, doing something just to expand my knowledge, so you’re not alone. :wink:
Is that a candle? if so, put it on a table, in the corner of a room, expand upon it. If it is outside, why is it? Is it insect repellent? If so, build a BBQ and put in in the background, have a dead fly near it. Or is it “mood lighting”? Think of a sunset in the background, a bit of decking/patio. Also, so close in, the bump map is to obvious and smooth, if your paving slab is so close, think about modelling the geometry instead. Just some ideas of the top of my head. :slight_smile:

Try joining the weekend challenge a few times

I really want to add more details into my models take for example an assault rifle theres so many little bits and pieces all over them and i just cant see seem to figure out how to make that happen with my mesh