Installing new Python version

Hi guys,
I just installed Python 2.3.4 on my Mandrake 9.0 Linux system to use with Blender 2.33. The problem is that I had 2.2.1 there already and I forgot to uninstall that one first (also I don’t know how to uninstall or even if I should, remember I’m still a Linux newbie). The problem is that when I start the Python interpreter I still get version 2.2.1. So what do I do to clean up my mess?

Thanks,
Hans Petter

Ok, I found out that as soon as I started Python as my own user I was able to start Python 2.3.4. But still everything is not all right. I think my pytonpath is ok, but I get this in the console when I start Blender:

Could not find platform independent libraries <prefix>
Could not find platform dependent libraries <exec_prefix>
Consider setting $PYTHONHOME to <prefix>[:<exec_prefix>]
warning: Python C API version mismatch for module strop: This Python has API version 1012, module strop has version 1011.
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback

Anybody knows what that means?

Hans Petter

I think you should install Python 2.3.3 instead of Python 2.3.4

I have Fedora Core 1 which comes with Python 2.2.3 and when I installed blender 2.33, starting blender gave the same kind of error, also complaining about a version mismatch. After installing version 2.3.3, that error disappeared.

Hope this helps,

Wim

Well, as far as I could see, 2.3.4 was the only one available at python.org, but I’ll take a closer look.

Btw, how do I uninstall 2.3.4? I buildt it from sources and this is Mandrake Linux 9.0.

Hans Petter

Python 2.3.3 can be found here: http://www.python.org/2.3.3/

I dont know directly how to uninstall something build from source (other than become root and manually deleting the files)
Best thing you can do is try to find a binary rpm for you distro or else download the source rpm from the above url and rebuild it for your distro, some info about rebuilding from source rpm can be found here.

Greetings,

Wim