Is blender good enough for character fighting animation?

Hello everyone! I’m jimmie and I’m learning movie creation in university, in Japan.
I really want to make cool fighting animation, just like RWBY fight by Monty Oum.
It would be very helpful if you guys could give me some advice.

I want to ask that, I have never experienced any 3D software before,
if I going to focus in only learning and making “character fighting sequence” in 1 year,
is Blender (or including addons) good enough for me,
or I better buy some another tools specifically for character animation, like iClone?
or choose the other software like Maya?

Actually I’m little flustered because I need to make a fight sequence demo for a upcoming project before the end of this year, a wrong choise may cause more waste of time so…
I’ve been do a lot of research in internet, but there’s no many thread or blog are talking about character animation by blender.
I know Maya is a very good choise for it, but I’m still a student, Maya is expensive for me.
And I gonna use some free MMD character model for practicing, so modeling and rigging may not be the main problem.

Please forgive my poor English, and I looking forward to hearing from you guys. Thank you for your time!

edit: thanks for reply, I know that use blender to create great animation is totally possible, but now I just have no many many years of times to spend on it. I already have the sequence, shot, storyboard of the fighting demo I need to make inside my brain, all I need may be a efficient way to make the output.
I’m considering with Blender / iClone / Maya, or the other, which one could be fastest to learn in 1 year, and easist to use, specifically in creating character animation. Thank you!

Blender is perfectly capable of pulling off an animated fight scene, or any animated scene. What it really comes down to is your own personal skill level, in animation and the tools blender has to offer.

1 Like