Is Blender right for me?

I’m a landscape architect who is thinking about getting into 3D modeling. I want to create 3D scenes based on 2D landscaping/architectural plans for sales presentation purposes.
I’m examining different options for software. I have been considering SketchUp but was told by someone with a great deal of 3D modeling experience that it is not very sophisticated modeling software. 3ds Max was recommended but I’m not sure if I want to pay the hefty price for it.
So my questions are: Is Blender better than SketchUp for what I want to do? Will it do what 3ds Max does? Is there another software that I should be considering?

Stuart

uhm…

Blender’s level is approximately the same as commercial softwares. even in spite that it lacks some features (compared to commercial softwares), it is a strong tool, which, when mastered, can bring satisfactory results.

the other option is then Rhinoceros, which has intuitive controlling, if you worked in AutoCAD before (and this was confirmed by my father, an architect and not a 3d worker, he confirmed that it’s very similar to the AutoCAD)

i think that’s all i can help you, let’s wait for the other opinions

Heh, you’d probably get a much better opinion of its sufficiency if you tried it yourself. It’s free, so there’s no hassle. Also, the manual is at http://wiki.blender.org

Yeah, Blender is right for you. There’s LOTS of architectural modeling and rendering going on with Blender these days.

Awesome architectural rendering done in blender:
http://www.gucias.republika.pl/katalog/katalog.html

Architectual rendering can be done in Blender, it’ll be easier to model too, once the Bmesh project is complete.

I’m a landscape architect who is thinking about getting into 3D modeling. I want to create 3D scenes based on 2D landscaping/architectural plans for sales presentation purposes.