Is blender the right tool for...

Hi!

I just signed up on this cozy forum becaues I could not find concrete answers elsewhere.

Basically, I have been doing editing, motion graphics and animation with the Adobe CS5 softwares like Premiere Pro, After Effects and Flash. Recently I have decided to widen my skills with 3D modeling and animation. I know it is a big topic, but I am a generalist freelancer and in many cases have to do the project alone from start to end, hence need to know as many usefull tools as I can.

So the question is, will Blender be a suficient tool to do simple 3D animations of mainly 3D text and pre-made 3D models to incorporate some 3D into my projects?
The reason why I ask is because I have some friends who do 3D work fulltime and they said that I souldn’t waste time with Blender and go straight to Cinema4D or 3DsMax.

What do you say?

(Please only comment if you actually have real life experience with Blender)

So the question is, will Blender be a suficient tool to do simple 3D animations of mainly 3D text and pre-made 3D models to incorporate some 3D into my projects?
Since it’s possible to create full 3d animations with complex characters in blender, I don’t see any problem doing what you wish to achieve.

Did your friends state a reason why blender would be a waste of time? I’m asking because what you want to accomplish is possible in every 3d software, and they’re telling you not to use free software, and pointing you to software you need to pay for.

blender is an amazing tool and I’ve used it for a long time as my main 3d content creation package.

for simple text animations blender is ok… but it sounds like you want to do more motion graphics type stuff in 3d. Cinema 4d has made this a speciality and is the leading package in the field (when using its “mograph” module.)