Is creating a GLSL based NodeTree possible?

I am really new to Blender and 3D in general, so still learning the of ropes. So, please don’t kill me if this has already been asked to death lol.

So, I was trying to learn some procedural shader, and found some nodes like tile sampler or blur not available in shader editor. I am sure you guys understand I am referencing Designer and trying to follow some tutorials and see if I can do it in Blender (among some other things). Then I spent a week down the rabbit hole of learning OSL and reading a bunch of codes from blender source code to animation-nodes source code (among some others). To my understanding, some things cannot be done in OSL. So, here is my question?

1. Am I missing something and this can be done with existing functionality?
  2. Is it possible to create a custom NodeTree and use something like ModernGL to create those nodes?
  3. Does this functionality already exist in some add-on?

And finally, if it cannot be done, what are the limitations?

As I said, I am quite new to 3D. So I might not have the full grasp of things.

Hello @aikiorai I have posted a few designer alternatives here.

The tile texture is called brick and for blur there is this workaround.

Hey @MarioPeper, thanks for the quick reply.
Do you have any resources for how brick can be used for tiling? I have been breaking my head over that for a while. Specially if you want to do random scale/rotation etc.

There is an add-on called SCATTEr which is sorta thing I am looking for.

As for open source alternatives, I found 2 I liked, Texture Lab, and Material Maker. Both are very much in development. Texture Lab (Vue.js, THREE.js, WebGL) has more Designer feel, while Material Maker (Godot Engine) is more like Blender.

What I wanted to know is if similar thing is possible in Blender, I can try to write an add-on for it. And if something like this has been tried already. Otherwise, I can fork one of those repos, and work on that.