Is it safe to use a Macbook Pro for rendering?

Hello community,

I’m a visual artist who has been using Blender for a few months now, slowly learning more and more.
I’ve recently decided to include 3D animation as a part of a project of mine. The scenes I’m working on are more and more complex and it takes more for my computer for rendering. I use a Macbook Pro 15" from 2016, and it makes a lot of noise when rendering, which can last hours.
I’m wondering if it is OK for me to treat my laptop this way. Sometimes I worry I may be pushing it too much and that it may fail sometime.

Any thoughts or recommendations would be appreciated.
Regards
Miguel

Most modern CPU’s have very strict self-protection systems in place to prevent any long term damage to the components. What you’re hearing is the fans spinning up to keep the internals cool enough not to cause damage. Unfortunately these very systems that are keeping your machine safe, are likely also throttling down the performance for the same reasons, which means longer render times.

You’re generally not in danger of ruining your laptop, but you’re also finding out some of the limitations. You could take some steps to minimize any additional heat issues, like for instance keeping it well ventilated, ideally raised off the table so that there is an air gap underneath it. Keeping it in an air conditioned environment helps too as outside air temperature will have an effect.

One of the many advantages of the new Apple ARM processors is that they consume very little power, and hence heat is not a huge problem for them. As you push your projects to the next level, you might consider a computer update at some point. If you’re intent of sticking with MacOS, I would advise to keep an eye out for new Mac Book Pro or iMac hardware announcements around July/August.

Dear Midphase,

thank you for the quick answer!