Is Programming a good career option?

As I finish up my final semester of college, I’ve been asking myself if the career path I am studying is a good choice for me. I am studying information systems technology, but I’ve been getting pretty stressed out about it. I don’t enjoy math, and I’m already getting frustrated about that and my worries of what might happen to me if I fail college. I don’t find this aspect of programming enjoyable, but I don’t know what I am going to do about my future.

I don’t have a job and I have no money, and I don’t know what to do with my life. I like computers, but what I’m learning right now in school isn’t very enjoyable. I like computers, art, drawing, animation, video games, and history. I want to know how programming works, but what I’m learning now is not really interesting.

I used to use GameMaker Studio 2, but I have trouble learning those things. I don’t have the money to pay for an online class, and I find it hard to look at all of those online tutorial videos because I am just copying everything and not learning one thing.

What should I do?

It’s only a good career choice if you enjoy it enough. That’s true for anything. You don’t have to outright love every second of it, nobody does that. But if you want a healthy work/life balance, you have to generally not hate work, find it fulfilling overall, be challenged now and then so you don’t stagnate. It’s really hard to assess that when you’ve not actually worked in your field, I know. Any chance you can get a related job at your college? That’s how I got into it.

I’m not qualified to tell you what to do; I’m a random person on the internet who doesn’t know you. Have you seen a career counselor? You’re in college, there are usually a lot of services you’re entitled to; find out what you can.