Is the 3d market worth the effort?

Hello, I have been using Blender for quite some time and since I am trying to evolve as an artist, I think that the time to sell some assets online will eventually come to subsidize my income, since this is just a hobby at the moment. The thing is, is it really worth it or is it just me that the whole market as a business is flooded with too much content? I get it that Blender Market is a site to help the developers keep the software running, since its 100% free but the rest seem to be too greedy. Is there any alternative or should I compromise and give it a shot?

1 Like

It depends on how you define “worth it”. I make about 20-30 dollars a month from BM. A lot of people make less, a lot make more, I’m just about average. The top .1% makes a few thousand a month, and the average is about 30-50 a month from what I’ve heard. Selling assets and not add-ons will put you below average, probably 20 a month. Is that “worth it” to you? Only you can know

2 Likes

The market has been flooded with content for 10-15 years, easily. A lot of that content is also basically free.

If you have a stack of assets that you think someone might pay for, there’s nothing lost by putting them out there and seeing what happens. But, I think keep your expectations of earnings quite low. Some months, you might earn enough to buy a soda.

Obviously, some creators absolutely earn quite a bit doing this… so, there’s a market. But you’ll be competing with them for that market. :wink:

4 Likes

I see what you mean, it’s a matter of perspective. I wasn’t planning on getting rich by selling assets alone, but 30 dollars a month is still 30 dollars a month. Thank you.

2 Likes

That’s some good advice, since some scenes or projects are already made so there should be no problem uploading some random assets here and there. I didn’t know how ola this fashion goes back in time, but as you said there is a market for everything and everyone.

1 Like