Island

Hello there,
I’ll make this short : I’m working on this island scene, and something still looks flat in it. (don’t worry about the blue edges i’ll crop them off :slight_smile: ) I’m thinking of adding a hammock between two of the trees.
Any comment and critique are more than welcome, and don’t be shy, tell me REALLY what’s not looking good :smiley:
Thanks for your time

Here’s what it looks like :

I really like it and think it captures the aesthetic you’re looking for. I think the biggest issue is the lack of contrast, esp on the leaves. The picture is very bright… and that tends to make them look washed out. I’m pretty new to 3d, but i’d assume a fix would be backing the lighting away a little bit or reevaluating its strength. also, it could be beneficial to tweak how the lights reflect off the leaves and go with a more matte looking finish.

Regarding the layout of the screen, there’s a big chunk of minimally used space in the lower right. This would be great for text or something like that, but as is, i’m not sure its doing much for your overall composition. Adding some sort of creative element here could help add interest to the whole of your project.

nice job

Amazing it looks! The island looks so real as it has so bright colors and the trees on the island looks so impressive! Great job

lodger, aaron2, thanks a lot for your feedback. Yes, i think you were right it did need some contrast so i added contrast on the leaves, and decresed slightliy the brightness, looks much better now.

As for the “matte” looking leaves you mentioned earlier, i think that might be interesting, but how do you think I could do it ?
I’m still thinking about how i could fill the space in the right side of the image. I thought about adding one of these (i don’t know what they’re called), but would it look out-of context ?

So what do you think ?

Once again thank you both it’s nice having you in the community :slight_smile: